Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows By Denis Knight & Cristy Burne

/, Books, MG Books/Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows By Denis Knight & Cristy Burne

Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows By Denis Knight & Cristy Burne

This hilarious new series is perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Artemis Fowl. Our main protagonists Wednesday Weeks rather study science than magic. Unfortunately, her gramps is determined to make her his apprentice. 

One day Wednesday is plucked away from her science class by her grandpa– after a science experiment fiasco–to begin her magic apprenticeship more seriously in a pocket dimension. But everything goes haywire when her gramps’ archenemies comes back and kidnaps her grandpa. Soon Wednesday teams up with her genius best friend Alfie and very reluctant talking skull Bruce to find a way to rescue her grandpa and stop the goblin king from taking over the cosmos!

This delightful tale had me cackling and desperately wishing it to never end. Much like other middle grade novels Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows highlights the love that exists in friends and family, but also the persistence that comes with wanting to make sure they are safe even when you have no clue how to do that.

Even though Wednesday is very unsure of her capabilities, she is very sure that the only way to fail is by not trying. She was so easy to love and cheer for. 

While the plot was a bit predictable, I still found it immersive. Although there is nothing wrong with knowing how the story will go because most of the time the journey is full of heart-racing moments.

Overall, this scientifically wondrous tale is definitely one to add to your TBR list. It promotes the importance of science while infusing it with magic! I am super excited to see where Wednesday’s story goes.

Thank yo Hachette Australia for providing me a finished copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. All opinion are my own.

Publisher: Hachette Australia 
ISBN:
9780734420190
Pages: 384
Publication Date: 28 April 2021
RRP: $16.99 AUD
Personal Rating: 4.5/5

By |2021-05-14T10:00:19+00:00May 14th, 2021|Book Reviews, Books, MG Books|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment